Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

Some trailers tell you everything you need to know about the film and therefore you never need to watch the film (Ishkq in Paris, I am looking at you).

And then there are those rare trailers that tell you ABSOLUTELY nothing about the actual film, but once you see the trailer, you KNOW that you are going to be watching this film.

Matru ki Bijilee ka Mandola‘ is just such a film.

Have a look at it yourself –

We last saw Vishal Bhardwaj in 7 Khoon Maaf. A good tale but it could have been done better. But his slightly older films – Ishqiya as producer/writer and Kaminey as director/writer/composer are still fresh in my mind, so my expectations from ‘Matru ki Bijilee ka Mandola‘ were already high.

The heroes –

In order of appearance they are –

1) Mandola a.k.a Pankaj Kapur

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

HEY! It’s Pankaj Kapur! The grand old man of Indian cinema!

I have always enjoyed his acting abilities and it amuses me to note that he is part that proud line of daddies – Amitabh, Shatragun Sinha, Jackie Shroff, Feroz Khan etc to name a few – whose children have vainly tried but epically failed to match their stature.

Although to be fair to Pankaj, Shahid Kapur in films like Jab We Met and Kaminey was a wonder. Then he started acting in with Priyanaka Chopra in shorts and in films set in Vegas and…well, why speak of a tragedy once it’s over?

The last time I had heard Pankaj’s throaty growl was WAY back in 2007 with the ‘Blue Umbrella’. Wikipedia tells me he did another film ‘Chala Mussaddi… Office Office’ in 2011 but I was not even aware of its existence.

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

He certainly has an awesome look in ‘Matru ki Bijilee ka Mandola‘. You gotta love the pointed mustache!

2) Matru a.ka. Imran Khan

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

Right. Imran Khan. Hmmmm *eyebrow rising*

Now I want to be as sensitive as possible, so I will say that I have no faith in Imran Khan whatsoever.

His last film was the immensely paint-by-numbers ‘Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu‘, whose performance in the box office can be described as ‘meh’. His performance in it as the brain-addled but ‘sweet’ girly boy was…watchable I guess.

On the other hand, he is a director’s actor and with a good director he can turn out capable performances – see ‘Delhi Belly‘.

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

I certainly like his look in ‘Matru ki Bijilee ka Mandola‘. The beard and the beedi and the earring and the ‘I am a man from Haryana with no money whatsoever’ look suit him.

Even if the beard has no particular role in the film, I like the idea that actors are reflecting the local flavor, something that is done spectacularly in most Vishal Bhardwaj films.

ek tha tiger

Call me fickle if you want, but when it is possible to cut out Salman Khan the rowdy from the streets in ‘Wanted‘ and paste him wholesale and with no changes into the international ‘spy-thriller/love story’ ‘Ek Tha Tiger‘ without the audience seeing any difference, it makes me a tad bit jaded about Bollywood.

Anyway back to Imran Khan. I only presume he is from Haryana because he is dressed that way and rides a Bullet with Haryana plates. I have no idea who he is. His self-identification as “dog” is not helping matters either.

This was occupying my mind slightly, until I saw this –

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

And I suddenly didn’t give a rats ass about who Imran…whats-his-name is.

3) Bijilee a.k.a Anuskha Sharma

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

I love Anushka Sharma because I am a convert.

When I first saw her in ‘Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi’, I was like – “Alright, another Punjabi template looking to be the next Karishma Kapoor or Katrina Kaif.”

However to her credit, and despite looking shocking alike in nearly all of her films, she has managed to carve out a place for herself with films like ‘Band Baaja Baaraat’ and ‘Ladies VS Ricky Bahl’.

Even her ads on TV are cute and quirky, unlike most of the other girls *cough Shah Rukh cough*, so I am pleased to see her there as well.

In ‘Matru ki Bijilee ka Mandola‘ it is hard to know if she is the village belle, the village call girl, a ‘free spirit’ or Imran Khan’s wife/fiance.

We are not told anything at all, but her opening dialogue presents such possibilities about her character that it is enough to rivet your attention, if her actual entrance had not done that part already.

And Shabana Azmi is in it, although the trailer doesn’t tell us anything about her so we are going to ignore her for now.

The music –

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

The trailer only features one song – the titular ‘Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola’ – so its hard to judge. However the winning combination of Gulzar and Vishal Bhardwaj have not let us down so far, so I am confident the music will be a solid as always.

The song we do hear is ample evidence in itself. The tunes are catchy and the lyrics are engaging. Although my favorite has to be the various dance steps littered throughout the trailer –

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

The story –

So what does the trailer of ‘Matru ki Bijilee ka Mandola‘ tell us?

Nothing.

I suppose the idea of the trailer is to divulge as little about the film as possible (a good strategy to ensure bums on seats come D-Day), but instead to showcase the general tone of the film, so viewers will know what they are in for.

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

In that spirit, the tone of ‘Matru ki Bijilee ka Mandola‘ is either insanity or uncontrolled fantasy. I get the feeling that I am probably not going to watch a film that follows ‘Bollywood’ logic. And thank god for that.

We have a midnight heist, trips to Africa, a possible wedding, diving into pools, midnight plane rides, some insane dancing and craziness all over the place peppered by strangely wonderful one-liners.

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

And there seems to be some sort of overall obsession with buffaloes.

Buffaloes are everywhere. It’s in the one-liner –

“If your heart is a rhino, then you will feel all girls are buffalos my love” (I have no idea what this supposed to mean)

Some one asks if a buffalo is in the sky.

Imran Khan assures Pankaj that he is even willing to marry Pankaj’s buffalo (among a host of other possessions including his underwear and his watch).

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

And in one scene, Pankaj’s has lots of sensors stuck to his head and mutters – “a pink buffalo”.

Okay then…

This trailer leaves a lot of questions unanswered, but in a good way.

I really want to know what is up with the buffaloes!

What is the nature of the relationship between these four people?

Does Imran marry Anushka because Pankaj threatened him in a plane?

Why are they sneaking around at night inside jeeps, wearing commando uniforms?

Just what in the world are they doing in Africa? Or is the film just set in Africa with the Haryana scenes being flashbacks?

The list goes on and on.

I hope it doesn’t all come crashing down. But we will have to wait till January 2013 to find it if it does.

Also, there is this –

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

R i g h t . . .

Indeed sir, you have my complete attention.

There better be a really, really good reason for that, and I am coming to the theater to see this!

(And this of course.)

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

Yes dear…Bahut pyar se dekhenge!

